Welcome to the first edition of the WAN Adaptive Reuse Focus. This edition looks back in detail at the shortlisted and winning projects of 2015. We also take an in-depth look at Stephenson Studio’s mill adaption whilst studying Marvel Architects and Macro Sea’s work on Building 128 in Brooklyn. We are also pleased to present the newest entries so far into the WAN Adaptive Reuse Award getting this category off to a sensational start.
The WAN Adaptive Reuse Award is a major international competition. The award celebrates and promotes the best in international Adaptive Reuse attracting entries from all over the world, providing a global platform to showcase your designs.
WAN AWARDS are proud of both the geographical range and variety of entrants making our global awards truly accessible to any architect, anywhere. At time of release, we already have entrants from across the globe including; USA, UK, Canada, Australia, China and Israel.
Six of the Best - 2015 Highlights
Last year’s WAN Adaptive Reuse Award attracted an array of stunning entries which showcased the wide range of projects that this diverse area covers. Over sixty projects were analysed by our expert jury panel, who had the tough task of selecting a shortlist of six and one winner... Read More
Urban Splash appoints Stephenson Studio for mill adaptation
The redevelopment of Victorian mills and warehouses is a common feature in old industrial city centres in the north of England, particularly in cities such a Leeds, Liverpool and Manchester. As part of this trend regeneration... Read More
From shipbuilding to high tech
in Brooklyn
Working with Marvel Architects, Macro Sea began work on Building 128 in Brooklyn - which, after years of neglect, was a deserted shell—in 2012, as the process of converting the space into ‘New Lab’ began. The building was originally used as... Read More
The quality of judges involved in the WAN AWARDS are always truly impressive. Over the past years our extensive panel of top international experts have committed not only their valuable time but their wealth of experience, objectivity and above all, their passion for good design.
We have the pleasure of showcasing some of the world's best known names, who are involved in this year's WAN Adaptive Reuse Award:

Michael Booth
Pollard Thomas Edwards
Associate Partner

Mat Cash
Heatherwick Studio
Architect and Group Leader

David Jennings
EPR Architects

Nina Rappaport
Yale School of Architecture, Vertical Urban Factory
Publications & Project Director

Ziona Strelitz
ZZA Responsive User Environments
Founder Director

Previous WAN Adaptive Reuse Winners:
Tonsley Main Assembly Building and Pods, Adelaide, Australia
Woods Bagot & Tridente Architects
National Design Centre, Singapore, Singapore
SCDA Architects
Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft, Ditchling, United Kingdom
Adam Richards Architects
Music School Louviers, Normandy, France
Opus 5
The WAN Adaptive Reuse Award 2016 is open for entries until 31 October, but if you would like to benefit from many more weeks of international exposure before the final deadline enter and upload your submission today. For further information about this award and how to enter, please contact Sam Horscraft at sam.horscraft@builtenvironmentmedia.com.
WAN Adaptive Reuse Award 2016 entries so far:
Simply Fresh by McCaffrey's, Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
The Lighthouse, King's Cross, London, United Kingdom
Latitude Architects and Designers Ltd
10 Hubert Street, New York, United States
ODA New York
Marilyn I. Walker School of Fine and Performing Arts, St. Catharines, Canada
Diamond Schmitt Architects
The Vault Wine Bar, Shelby, OHio, United States
FiELD9: architecture
MullenLowe, Winston-Salem, United States
TPG Architecture
University of Chicago - Saieh Hall for Economics, Chicago, United States
Ann Beha Architects
Allez-Up Rock Climbing Gym, Montreal, Canada
Smith Vigeant Architects
Primus Hotel, Sydney, Australia
Woods Bagot
Office Renovation in Hangzhou, Hangzhou, China
Daipu Architects
Knoxville Botanical Garden & Arboretum Visitor Pavilion, Knoxville, United States
De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop
The Glass Gallery (The Kadar Media Lab Building, Shenkar College), Ramat Gan, Israel
Tapstone Energy Headquarters, Oklahoma City, United States
Rogers Partners
House of Vans London, United Kingdom
Tim Greatrex Architect + Pete Hellicar
Symmetry Partners, Glastonbury, Connecticut, United States
Amenta Emma Architects
Filene's Department Store, Boston, United States
Handel Architects
Editorial: 1: Sam Noonan, 2: Stephenson STUDIO, 3: Macro Sea & Marvel Architects
Past Winners: 1: Sam Noonan, 2: Aaron Pocock, 3: Brotherton-Lock, 4: Opus 5
Entries - 1: Dawn Deppi, 2: Neil Mitchell, 3: Frank Oudeman, 4: Diamond Schmitt Architects, 5: Bryce Millikin Photography, 6: Eric Laignel, 7: Tom Rossiter, 8: Stephane Brugger, 9: Trevor Mein, 10: Daipu Architects, 11: De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop, 12: Krinizi Archive, 13: Timothy Hursley, 14: Nathan Gallagher, 15: Robert Benson Photography, 16: Bruse Martin