Jury (from left to right)
Miguel Ruano, InterContinental Hotels Group
Caroline Stephens, World Architecture News
Luis Zapiain, HKS inc
Gregoir Chikaher, Arup
Robert Morris-Nunn, Circa Morris-Nunn Architects (remote judge)

Click here to view full jury

Winner: Innhouse,
Kunming, China by the
Oval partnership

Read more and see our shortlist here 
for the first time, the jury selected projects with especially high eco credentials
Read more and see our longlist so far 
WAN is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2012 WAN Hotel of the Year Award is the Oval Partnership-designed Innhouse in Kunming, China. This stunning eco-guesthouse is designed to act as a self-contained community for travellers and offers 17 luxury suites in a series of L-shaped forms, cupped by leafy natural foliage and intimate courtyards.

For our 2012 Hotel of the Year judges, Gregoir Chikaher, Director and Global Hotels & Leisure Sector Leader at Arup, Luis Zapiain, Head of Hospitality at HKS, and Miguel Ruano, Vice President of Design & Engineering at InterContinental Group, the winning submission ticked all of their boxes.

Zapiain explains that The Oval Partnership’s Innhouse project ‘covered all the bases of what we were looking for: innovation, experience for the guest, use of material, the way it sits on the land, and the image it gives for China as an emerging country in the travel market’.

Read more here 
Subscribe to this newsletter