EVENT REVIEW
Origins: The Contemporary Craft Fair

Origin: The Contemporary Craft Fair returned to the London Design Festival with a host of new and established makers and some exciting developments.

Located in a purpose-built pavilion within Old Spitalfields Market, Origin, the Crafts Council's annual contemporary craft fair, offers a unique opportunity to see, buy or commission the finest handcrafted pieces from over 200 British and international makers under one roof. It was a chance to meet the makers face to face and to find out the provenance, inspiration and techniques behind their work. Disciplines ranged from furniture, interiors, ceramics and metalwork to fashion accessories, jewellery, glass, paper and knitwear.

Here’s our pick of the best of Origins 2011:

Abigail Brown – Soft Sculpture birds and butterflies. www.abigail-brown.co.uk
Chris Barnes – Functional cermamic sculpture. www.morvernpottery.co.uk
Claire Brewster – Artworks cut from vintage maps. www.clairebrewster.co.uk
Gary Allson – Handmade wooden bowls and plates www.garyallson.co.uk
John Alfredo Harris – Furniture www.jaharris.co.uk
Kirsti Taiviola – Glass work in different forms www.kirstitaiviola.com
Laura Slater – Hand screen printed textiles www.lauraslater.co.uk
Laura Thomas – Textile artworks and sculptures www.laurathomas.co.uk
Maya Selway – Precious metal objects www.mayaselway.com
Ontwerpduo – installations, furniture and products www.ontwerpduo.nl
Rebecca J Coles – Hand cut paper sculptures www.rebeccajcoles.co.uk
Richard Wheater – performance and installation www.richardwheater.com
Sally Weatherill – Woven Textiles www.sallyweatherill.co.uk
Sarah Morpeth – sculptural papercuts www.sarahmorpeth.com
Tsai & Yoshikawa – organic forms using synthetic materials www.tsai-yoshikawa.com