Tell a friend about WAN AWARDS
The Miller Hull Partnership wins 2013 WAN Sustainable
Building of the Year

Following the rigorous selection process to find the six contenders for the 2013 WAN Sustainable Building of the Year shortlist, our expert judging panel, consisting of Mikael Stenqvist (White Arkitekter), Ann Marie Aguilar (Arup Associates), Cees van der Spek (OVG Real Estate), Huib van Zeijl (Equipe) and Mark Reddington (LMN architects), had the difficult task of selecting a winner from their midst.

Each shortlisted entry tackled the challenge of sustainability in a different way, creatively solving specific problems to their varying sectors ranging from education to commercial to healthcare. From saving energy in a hospital in Norway to a desert learning centre in the United Arab Emirates facing extreme exposure and temperatures tackling water consumption. But in the end, there could only be one winner.

That accolade, we are delighted to announce, went to The Bullit Center by The Miller Hull Partnership. Built in Seattle, United States and initiated by Earth Day co-founder Denis Hayes with sustainability at the forefront of the design process from the off. The result is a design that has tackled the Living Building Challenge and come out the other side with a Net Zero Building Certification; the scheme is a shining example of sustainable building for the future. Ann Marie Aguilar of Arup Associates commented that: "This building really sets the debate about how to design buildings to be truly sustainable and make the lowest possible impact." And we couldn't agree more.

The Bullit Center is the first leasable market rate commercial structure that meets the targets of the Living Building Challenge to the Net Zero Energy standard, including adhering to the omission of all toxic chemicals that appear on the prohibited 'red list' and also ensuring 'One hundred percent of the project's energy needs must be supplied by on-site renewable energy on a net annual basis'. Our panel really thought it shone through as an inspiration to future projects aiming for this level of sustainability, and as Mikael put it, 'this building really tells a story'.

WINNER: The Bullit Center by The
Miller Hull Partnership
Jury left to right: Anne Marie Aguilar, Associate Director, Arup Associates; Cees van der Spek, OVG Real Estate; Mikael Stenqvist, Partner and Senior Architect, White Arkitekter
Remote judges:
Huib van Zeijl, Founder, Équipe Mark Reddington, Design partner, LMN Architects
You have received this WAN AWARDS mailer because you subscribed to
WAN's mailing list via our website. Unsubscribe