Hello everyone,
Just a quick reminder that the WAN AWARDS 2011 Urban Design Sector is still open… but only until August 31st!

The award seeks to celebrate and promote the best in international urban design, landscape, transport & infrastructure projects – attracting entries from all over the world – and features two categories: one for completed projects, and one for unbuilt projects.

For the completed category, the competition is open to all urban design, landscape, transport & infrastructure projects completed on or after 1st January 2008. There is no date restriction on the unbuilt category, and you may enter whether your design is under construction or concept design only.

Click HERE for all the information you need on making an entry

To find out more contact James Forryan on +44 (0)207 332 0050 or by email at james.forryan@wantoday.com

We are also delighted to announce the Jury Panel for the WAN AWARDS Urban Design Sector 2011:
THE JUDGES (left to right)
Martha Schwartz has over 30 years of experience as a landscape architect and artist. She is the recipient of numerous awards and prizes and is a tenured Professor in Practice of Landscape Architecture at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design.
Adrian Smith has been a practicing architect for 45 years. His design portfolio includes four of the world's 11 tallest buildings, including Burj Khalifa in Dubai. Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture's Chicago Central Area DeCarbonization Plan won the 2010 WAN Urban Design Award.
Daniel R Ringelstein is Director of Urban Design & Planning at SOM. An architect, urban designer and planner, he is interested in how planning, urban design and infrastructure can create a positive public environment; evident in his many accomplishments in urban environments around the world.
Clive Dutton OBE is Executive Director for Regeneration, Planning and Property for London Borough of Newham; host Borough to the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.
Ian Mulcahey is the firmwide leader of Gensler's Planning & Urban Design practice area with 20 years experience in the design and implementation of complicated projects at a range of scales in Europe and the Middle East.
Robbert van Nouhuys is Director for International Projects at ACLA and has more than 30 years experience in planning and design of a wide variety of development projects in Asia and the Middle East.
Chris Wilkinson OBE is a principal and founder of Wilkinson Eyre Architects. His contribution to architecture has been recognised with an OBE, election to the Royal Academy of Arts in 2006, and an Honorary Fellowship of the American Institute of Architects in 2007.
Neil Porter is a founding principal of Gustafson Porter. He has also been a designer for leading London practices such as Terry Farrell Architects, Ian Ritchie Architects and Alsop.
Sherin Aminossehe is Vice President for the planning team in HOK London and has worked extensively in urban regeneration projects across UK, Europe, Russia and the Middle East.
Tony Mills is Commercial Director at Kalzip and has been part of the team for the last 10 years. His role as Commercial Director, International Projects, sees him heading up the Business Unit’s international team. Bringing together a wealth of experience over a range of disciplines, the team support international projects through all stages of design, tender and construction.
Image credit: NY High Line © James Corner Field Operations / Diller Scofidio + Renfro